Sensitive Skincare Routine

I’ve always been a sensitive girl. My emotions, my skin….today I’m talking about a skincare routine for sensitive skin. I didn’t realize my skin was sensitive until I became an adult. I always thought I had tough girl skin and could just try whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted. Looking back, I have no idea WHY this thought ever crossed my mind. I battled acne in high school, perioral dermatitis in my early 20s, and rosacea after Pippa was born. I am no stranger to the dermatologist office, and have learned a lot in the past 15 years or so about how to take care of my sensitive skin. 

Be Cautious

First. Things. First. Always try new products with EXTREME caution. Do your research. If you have sensitive skin, many products will be too harsh for you, which will lead to issue flair-ups (acne, redness, etc.). So, be SURE to check the ingredients first. Introduce new treatments/lotions a week at a time to make sure they don’t irritate or mix poorly with other products you’re using. 

Ingredients & Packaging

Something I’ve found helpful, is limiting the “icky” stuff in the skincare products I use – fragrance, especially — and to pay attention to the packaging. I prefer products that are “pumped” out and/or can be applied with a single use cotton pad. I avoid any jars because they are a breeding ground for bacteria as soon as the original seal is broken. The same goes for sponges that are used again and again. 

Layering

If you’re using multiple products, be sure you’re layering them correctly. Start with the product you want to have the most impact on your skin and/or is the lightest. Serums are generally lighter and more potent so it would make sense to apply them first. Wait for each “layer” to dry completely before applying the next product.

Routine

My skin is dry, so I start with a moisturizing serum. I tried and tested a few, and the clear winner was the B-Hydra serum by Drunk Elephant. I also really liked Peter Thomas Roth’s Cloud Serum. I really like the effects of a Vitamin C serum, so I apply that next. My favorite is Olehenriksen’s Truth Serum. I WAIT FOR EACH SERUM TO DRY BEFORE I APPLY THE NEXT ONE. One of the best tips I heard was to work the dry-time into your routine! I.e. Apply the first serum, then comb through your hair, apply the second serum, then work in your hair products. Finally, I make sure to apply my moisturizer, which has an SPF of 15. After all of these have been layered onto my skin and fully absorbed, I apply my makeup. 

In the evening, my skincare is much more simple. It’s about giving my skin a break 🙂 I make sure to remove all of my makeup and cleanse the skin. After that, I apply an OTC retinol (Differin Gel). This is excellent for fine lines and cell turnover. I always follow with moisturizer.

Morning

  1. Cleanse
  2. Moisture Serum
  3. Vitamin C Serum
  4. Moisturizer
  5. SPF

Evening

Leave a comment